Tags

, ,

panic-attack

Half awake

I notice the smell first

Then fuzziness around the edges

My world split in two

Two realities

Disparate

The Now and the Then

Two rooms, miles apart

 

The scent of Sweat and Whisky

Conquering the normal odor

Of Pot and Dragon’s Blood

Candles set aflame

 

The split widens; Then overcoming Now

Lines no longer blurred; pounding fists

Cover my flesh, as if anew

As if I knew

My body remembers

Retains

Recognizes and refrains

From screaming out in the still darkness

 

My mind calls me back to safety

To ocean’s waves pounding

Through the telephone speaker

 

Sensing the softness of my pillow underhand

I steady my breath; slow the racing rhythm

Of my fractured heart

Fear recedes, anguish follows

I am left with guarded dreams

And restless half-sleep

