Tags

, ,

Writing 101, Assignment 3                                                              9/17/14

Music has always woven an interesting path through my lifetime. Sliding boldly into my reality at one moment and then retreating the next. I am lacking a voice suitable to song and I’m terrible at remembering lyrics, often belting out the wrong refrain.

There are, however, a few that stick with me, although, oddly enough they all escaped me the moment I tried to pinpoint three that are significant.

Actually, that’s not true. One popped to mind right away – Dusty Springfield’s “Son of a Preacher Man”. My given first name, vs my Non De Plume  is Dusty, in honor of Miss Springfield. Son of a Preacher Man was the first song of hers that I heard and I fell in love with it instantly. Interestingly, Dusty was bi-sexual, as am I. This confirms my suspicion that names really do have power… of course, I also believe that sometimes a coincidence is just a coincidence.

As a second song I’d have to go with “He Went to Paris” by Jimmy Buffett. I may have been named after a stunning English Pop singer, but Jimmy’s music was like a soundtrack to my early life. My mother loved him and played his music often When I got my first car she gave me several cassette tapes to play on the road, including Jimmy’s “A White Sports Coat and a Pink Crustacean” album. There was something so haunting and beautiful about the ballad of one man’s life, the questions he asked, and the answers he never found.

Lastly, I would have to go with “Ramblin’ Fever” by the late, great Merle Haggard. I can remember riding with my grandfather in his giant 18 wheeler or with my mom in her old Pontiac, the windows rolled down and the world outside sliding by; something interesting to see with every blink of my eyes.
I hear that song and think of rides in the truck, time spent with my mom cruising the back roads, and driving for the sake of driving. I have a traveler’s heart and that is a traveler’s song.

There’s a lot of contemporary music that touches me as well, from many genres. I have eclectic taste to say the least, but these three will always have a special place in my heart – and on my Spotify “comfort music” playlist.

