Tags

, ,

I try to be a kind and thoughtful person.  I let folks go ahead of me in line, help old ladies get things off high shelves, give questioning tourists accurate directions, that sort of thing. Little kindnesses, as we all know, can make a day better.

Just recently I turned 40, and a few days later I took part in the Greatest International Scavenger Hunt the World Has Ever Seen, hosted by Misha Collins and his charity foundation Random Acts of Kindness. As someone with chronic pain, PTSD and anxiety disorders I can assure you the entire week was lived well outside of my comfort zone.

My personal theme became, simply “try” – don’t stress over whether something will go right or wrong and whether or not I’d mess something up for my teammates, just try. Try I did… and more often than not I succeeded. Perhaps not brilliantly… but successes were had, along with a few failures (losing my shit in a fit of tears over not being able to find the right pasta at SEVEN different stores, blurry video of teammates performing a challenge) but nothing that couldn’t be overcome.

Mostly I gained a small measure of confidence and decided that this theme of “try” was a perfect one, not just for GISHWHES week, but for my entire 40th year.

One of the things I wish to try, is that, over the course of this year, I want to perpetrate 40 Acts of Random Awesomeness… er.. Kindness… and not just the little things that come up in the course of day-to-day life… but bigger things that I actually have to plan and execute. I’m pretty excited. I’m pretty terrified. Both emotions are strong motivators and I’m confident that I can meet this goal and, even if I don’t – at least I will have TRIED.

I don’t have a full list of what I wish to do yet, but I have a few ideas and I’ll be sharing them here as I go. If you, dear reader, happen to stumble upon this wee blog… feel free to leave me some ideas in the comments, I’d be happy to hear them.

Meanwhile, I’ll be surprising a hardworking single-mother neighbor of mine with a 15 dollar gift card on the 1st of September, I’m plotting to adopt a solider with some of my friends and, if I can swing the semantics I have a little something going for my sister. That’s three… only 37 more to conceptualize and carry out! Wish me luck!

